Chess Records at FAME Studios – Reaching Out


An overview of the 1967-69 southern soul sessions undertaken at Fame studios by Chess Records. Includes three previously unissued tracks.

Rick Hall’s Fame studios in Muscle Shoals enjoyed a lengthy relationship with Chicago’s Chess Records that, one way or another, spanned most of the 60s. “Reaching Out” concentrates on 1967 to 1969, when Chess was sending down its own artists to record at the studio, rather than the masters Rick Hall placed with the company in previous years.

Every artist Chess sent to Fame during those years is featured here. No other company sent quite as many acts to the studio as Chess. Luckily they had some of the greatest female soul vocalists on their books at the time, and Etta James, Irma Thomas, Laura Lee and Mitty Collier all benefited greatly from a bit of Muscle Shoals magic.

This was the era of the studio’s second great rhythm section, the Swampers, and the musicians who truly defined the Fame sound can be heard working out on three instrumental selections released in the name of tenor sax star Charles Chalmers.

To make an already exciting project even more interesting, this collection eschews most of the best-known sides Chess artists recorded at Fame (many of which are available on other Kent CDs) in favour of less-familiar tracks, including three previously unissued and several others making their CD debut.

Tony Rounce



Side 1

  1. Preview It’s All Wrong, But It’s Alright – Laura Lee
  2. Preview So Much Love – Maurice & Mac
  3. Preview Good To Me – Irma Thomas
  4. Preview The Same Rope – Etta James
  5. Preview Wanted: Lover, No Experience Necessary – Laura Lee
  6. Preview Reaching Out – Bobby Moore & The Rhythm Aces
  7. Preview The Sidewinder – Charles Chalmers
  8. Preview Security – Etta James
  9. Preview Run To Me – Maurice & Mac
  10. Preview Too Soon To Know – Mitty Collier
  11. Preview Good Day Sunshine – Lee Webber
  12. Preview Don’t Lose Your Good Thing – Etta James
  13. Preview Two In The Morning – Charles Chalmers
  14. Preview Hang It Up – Laura Lee
  15. Preview Lean On Me – Maurice & Mac
  16. Preview Let’s Do It Over – Irma Thomas
  17. Preview I Wanna Be Your Man – Bobby Moore and the Rhythm Aces
  18. Preview Sure As Sin – Laura Lee
  19. Preview Party Time – Lee Webber
  20. Preview Take Me (Just As I Am) – Charles Chalmers
  21. Preview You’re Living A Lie – Mitty Collier
  22. Preview It’s How You Make It Good – Laura Lee
  23. Preview A Woman Will Do Wrong – Irma Thomas
  24. Preview Come Back Baby – Bobby Moore & The Rhythm Aces


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Chess Records at FAME Studios – Reaching Out”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *