Candi Staton – Evidence



Candi Staton’s recording’s for Fame Records are some of the most essential moments in Southern Soul’s history. For the first time ever all 48 of the tracks she made for Rick Hall’s label between 1969 and 1974 are together in one place. 22 have never been on CD before and 12 are previously unreleased.

*This collection contains 12 R&B chart hits, four of which went Top 10, including her peerless version of Tammy Wynette’s `Stand By Your Man’. Kent have also included every track from her three albums released on Fame.

*This is the first time that Candi’s Fame recordings have been reissued by anyone with access to the Fame Studios tape archive. This allows Kent to present everything in stunning sound as well as the previously unreleased tracks which are all of a high quality. In the ballad `We Had It All’ and the dancer `One More Hurt’ Kent are introducing new classics to her canon, some of which she will be incorporating into the set she will perform on her upcoming European tour.

*The booklet has an extensive note based on exclusive interviews with Candi and producer Rick Hall as well as many of the musicians involved. Access to Fame’s own photo archive means that Kent are able to include many wonderful and previously unseen photos of Candi.



Disc 1

  1. Someone You Use
  2. I’d Rather Be An Old Man’s Sweetheart (Than A Young Man’s Fool)
  3. You Don’t Love Me No More
  4. Evidence
  5. Sweet Feeling
  6. Do Your Duty
  7. That’s How Strong My Love Is
  8. I’m Just A Prisoner (Of Your Good Lovin’)
  9. Another Man’s Woman, Another Woman’s Man
  10. Get It When I Want It
  11. For You
  12. Never In Public
  13. Heart On A String
  14. Stand By Your Man
  15. How Can I Put Out The Flame (When You Keep The Fire Burning)
  16. Mr And Mrs Untrue
  17. Too Hurt Too Cry
  18. He Called Me Baby
  19. Sweet Feeling (Old Time Feeling)
  20. To Hear You Say You’re Mine
  21. What Would Become Of Me
  22. Freedom Is Just Beyond The Door
  23. Where Were You – previously unissued
  24. Do Right Woman – previously unissued

Disc 2:

  1. Trouble, Heartaches And Sadness – previously unissued
  2. Spread Your Love On Me – previously unissued
  3. Do It In The Name Of Love
  4. Darling You’re All That I Had
  5. Blackmail
  6. In The Ghetto
  7. Wanted: Lover
  8. The Best Thing You Ever Had
  9. Lovin’ You Lovin’ Me
  10. I’ll Drop Everything And Come Running
  11. The Thanks I Get For Loving You
  12. Sure As Sin
  13. It’s Not Love
  14. Something’s Burning
  15. I’m Gonna Hold On (To What I Got This Time)
  16. Love Chain
  17. Slipping Away – previously unissued
  18. One More Hurt – previously unissued
  19. Lovin The Easy Way – previously unissued
  20. Are You Just Building Me Up – previously unissued
  21. I’ll Be Here – previously unissued
  22. I Gave A Little And Lost A Lot – previously unissued
  23. Jolene – previously unissued
  24. We Had It All – previously unissued



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Candi Staton – Evidence”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *